Candidate Statement 2012: Jonathan A. Karon

by

Dear Precinct 12 Voter:

I’m Jon Karon and I’m running for re-election to Town Meeting. I’d like to tell you about myself and ask for your vote in the Town Election on Tuesday, May 1st.

In addition to Town Meeting, I’ve had the honor of serving on Brookline’s School Committee; and on the Advisory Committee, which is our Town’s Finance Committee. I’ve been responsible for important budget decisions affecting both our schools and town services, and I have a record of fighting for my budget priorities: first class public schools; public safety; and essential services, especially for our senior citizens. I also support necessary investments in infrastructure, particularly keeping our roads and sidewalks in good repair. While on the Advisory Committee, I chaired its Planning and Regulation Sub-Committee where I worked to ensure that neighborhood concerns were taken seriously when considering proposed residential and commercial development.

I first moved to Brookline in 1983 and I’m a homeowner on Winthrop Road. I’ve been involved in our community in ways beyond my service in Town government. In particular, I’ve had the honor of serving on the Boards of Directors of the Brookline Greenspace Alliance and the Brookline Rotary Club, and I’m an Elected Member of the Brookline Democratic Town Committee.

I would like to return to Town Meeting to serve our Precinct. I’ll work to ensure that tough budget choices are made wisely and with compassion; that our schools get the resources they need; and that decisions on warrant articles reflect the progressive values of Brookline.

If re-elected, I will listen to you and work for you. I thus ask for one of your votes for Town Meeting Member from Precinct 12. Please feel free to e-mail me at kandlaw@verizon.net or call me at 617-367-3311 if you would like more information or would like to share your concerns on our Town or our neighborhood. Thank you very much.

Very truly yours,

Jonathan A. (Jon) Karon

2 Responses to “Candidate Statement 2012: Jonathan A. Karon”

  1. Candidate Statements 2012 Roundup « Neighbors Building Brookline Says:

    […] Jonathan A. Karon […]

  2. Election Day Tomorrow – May 1, 2012 « Neighbors Building Brookline Says:

    […] Jonathan A. Karon […]

Leave a Reply

