Candidate Statement 2012: Casey A. Hatchett

by

I am running for re-election to TMM for Precinct 12 because I am committed to making our community a better and safer place to live and work. I have been a resident of Brookline for 18 years and own a home on University Road where I live with my husband and three sons, ages 7, 5 and 4 and one daughter, age 1. I have been very active in our community for many years, serving as a Brookline Police Officer for the last 14 years, as Chair/Co-Chair of the Brookline Commission for Women for the last seven and as an active parent at Driscoll School. I have a wealth of relevant experience and knowledge on both professional and personal fronts.

My priority areas include:

  • Public Safety
  • Schools
  • Environment
  • Strong Town Services

I bring diverse work experiences and considerable community involvement in several areas. Being the mother of four young children, I will continue to be a strong voice for young families in our community who seek an excellent public education.

During the last 14 years as a Brookline Police Officer, I have been assigned to the Patrol Division, the Community Service Division and currently to the Crime Analysis Unit. I also sit on the Brookline Emergency Management Team and coordinate the Town’s CERT (Community Emergency Response Team). I worked extensively on the BPD’s Racial Profiling Prevention Strategies grant program and was editor and a contributing author for the BPD’s 10 Year Report on Racial Profiling Prevention. I have extensive experience as a grant writer as well. As your town meeting member, I bring more than a decade of experience in helping people who are underserved and disadvantaged and have strong feelings on fairness and justice. I have been fortunate to work under the direction of a progressive police chief and to have the opportunity to work on a variety of initiatives that help make Brookline a safe and enjoyable place to live.

As Chair and Co-Chair of the Brookline Commission for Women for the last seven years, I have helped institute an active agenda of programs and initiatives that support and promote women in Brookline. The Brookline Commission for Women strives to support women in all aspects of their lives and to promote the cultural, racial, and economic diversity of Brookline. Specifically, I have helped to coordinate seven Dress for Success Clothing Drives to help underprivileged women entering the workforce and three children clothing and book drives. I have worked on programs that educate women in the community on topics such as breast cancer (through the showing of the documentary film Toxic Bust which links chemicals in the environment to breast cancer) and money management (which taught attendees how to repair bad credit, make spending/saving plan and reduce costs.). I have also helped coordinate the annual Women Who Inspire Us essay contests and award ceremonies which celebrate women in the community making a significant impact on the lives of children and others in our community.

Over the last five years, I have also been a member of the Jennifer A. Lynch Committee Against Domestic Violence and currently serve as Treasurer. The JAL works to raise domestic violence awareness and prevention through education and programming.

I earned a Bachelor of Arts from Boston University in Political Science with a minor in Sociology and a Masters Degree from Western New England College in Criminal Justice Administration. During college, I developed my interest in public service while interning with the Governor’s Council and working for Congressman Joseph Kennedy at his District office and on his re-election campaign. I furthered this interest in public service while working as a speechwriter and policy analyst for the Secretary of Public Safety (Kathleen O’Toole) and went on to pursue a career in law enforcement as a result of her inspiration. My policy work at the Secretariat focused on community policing, domestic violence prevention, improved technology for law enforcement (computers/radios) and diplomatic work with Northern Ireland regarding the implementation of community policing in their country. Most recently, I have started teaching graduate students at Suffolk University, where I serve as an Adjunct Professor.

Through my work and community service, I am intricately involved in our community. Thank you for the opportunity to serve our community these last three years. I hope I can count on your support at the polls on May 1st!

Regards,
Casey A. Hatchett

2 Responses to “Candidate Statement 2012: Casey A. Hatchett”

  1. Candidate Statements 2012 Roundup « Neighbors Building Brookline Says:

    […] Casey Hatchett […]

  2. Election Day Tomorrow – May 1, 2012 « Neighbors Building Brookline Says:

    […] Casey Hatchett […]

Leave a Reply

