Candidate Statement 2012: Jonathan H. Grand

by

Dear Precinct 12 residents,

I am asking for your vote in the May 1st election for Town Meeting members. I have represented you since 1997 and during that time, I have missed only one night when I was out of town on business. I think that Town Meeting members have two basic obligations to voters: 1) Attend and vote at all Town Meetings; and 2) Make your votes public so that voters know how you have represented them. As such, I have supported all warrant articles and motions on the floor that are in favor of recorded votes.

I have been a resident of Brookline since 1978. Initially, I lived in a rent control apartment in the Coolidge Corner area and became familiar with tenant issues. When I moved to this precinct and into my condominium, I first ran on a pro-rent control slate. Most of us were defeated and rent control was abolished statewide shortly thereafter. I then joined Neighbors Building Brookline (NBB) in 1997 and was elected as a Town Meeting member. NBB comprises 13 of the incumbent Town Meeting members running for re-election and I am running as part of that slate. I have been endorsed by Brookline PAX in every one of my previous elections and have been informed that I will be endorsed by them this year as well.

Since moving into this precinct in 1987, I was for many years a trustee of the Beaconsfield Town House Condominium Trust. I am also a volunteer for the Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) and have worked at several flu clinics since joining CERT.

I grew up in the Bronx, New York and am a graduate of Evander Childs H.S. and Hunter College of the City University of New York. I have a B.A. in Political Science and an M.S.W. from the University of Michigan. I was a caseworker in “Fort Apache” in the South Bronx for five years and have worked for a number of non-profit organizations in the field of alcohol and drug abuse treatment since moving to Boston in 1974. I have been an Executive Director of two organizations and have worked for the past 20 years as a consultant for Advocates for Human Potential, Inc., which is a provider of contractual services to Federal and State agencies.

One of the delights of moving to New England is the discovery of the joys of the outdoors. I have been a bicycling and ski leader for the Appalachian Mountain Club (AMC) for over 30 years and as a result have developed many deep friendships. To show my appreciation, I have served as a member and then Chairperson of the Leadership Training Committee as well as Vice Chair and then Chair of the 24,000 member Boston Chapter of AMC.

I hope you will cast your vote for me on May 1 at our temporary polling place in the Brookline High School gymnasium. If you have any questions, please email me at jhgrand@verizon.net.

Sincerely,
Jonathan H. (Jon) Grand

2 Responses to “Candidate Statement 2012: Jonathan H. Grand”

  1. Candidate Statements 2012 Roundup « Neighbors Building Brookline Says:

    […] Jonathan H. Grand […]

  2. Election Day Tomorrow – May 1, 2012 « Neighbors Building Brookline Says:

    […] Jonathan H. Grand […]

Leave a Reply

